Lion’s Heart Senior Spotlight – Trisha A.

“Like everyone else prior to high school, I believed in helping others and giving back to the community, but I unfortunately never really acted on that belief. As I entered high school I didn’t want to just “think” about helping others, I wanted to “do” something. So, at the end of my freshman year of high school, my mom introduced me to Lion’s Heart. Entirely student run and well established, Lion’s Heart was a great fit for me. Starting with only four members definitely posed its own challenges, but these challenges made me the leader and person that I am today.

One of the many gifts that Lion’s Heart has given me is my humanity. Whether it was serving food at our local soup kitchen, setting up for school carnivals, or even cleaning up trash on the beach, every day that I volunteered taught me lessons about compassion and building relationships with other people. And looking back on my Lion’s Heart journey, I am definitely not the same person I was four years ago. This organization has given me the opportunity to be a strong leader and also be a patient team player. And all my experiences have not only shaped who I am today, but also who I will be tomorrow.

This fall I will be attending UCLA where I hope to take the lessons that I have learned from Lion’s Heart and contribute to the Los Angeles community. I take great pride and happiness every time I wear my Lion’s Heart shirt because it is a reminder that today I made a difference in someone’s life. And I hope to continue this feeling in the future as I aspire to be physician and embrace my humanity.”

Thank you, Trisha, for sharing. We are so proud to have had you as a Member of Lion’s Heart. We wish you the best as you continue your journey!

Wonderfully written by Trisha A.  Tricia is a graduating Lion’s Heart member in the Tustin, California chapter 2016 girls blue group and will be attending UCLA this fall. For more information on Lion’s Heart see our website lionsheartservice.org.

Leave a Reply

