Lion’s Heart Senior Spotlight – Natalie P.

Volunteering has always been a huge part of my life. It became even more important to me these past few years, organizations like Lion’s Heart helped me make a positive difference in the lives of others, kept me grounded, and offered me a break from the stress of high school. Whether it was standing in front of my local grocery store collecting for a food drive or making sandwiches for inner city children, Lion’s Heart made me feel like I was really making a difference at a local level and I could see my contribution directly helping people.

Through Lion’s Heart, I was able to further develop my leadership skills and gain confidence to an extent I never would have imagined possible. I started off high school a quiet, shy freshman and by the end of my senior year, I even volunteered to be an emcee at my chapter’s awards night. I spoke in front of hundreds of people! Serving as President of my local Lions Heart chapter, I became more accustomed to sharing my ideas in front of others during my monthly Lion’s Heart meetings. The support my fellow group members gave me was extremely encouraging. Through all of our community service projects, my Lion’s Heart group really bonded and I have so many fond memories volunteering together and really making a difference to the people around us.

Since I was young, I have aspired to become a doctor. After all of my volunteer experiences, I have learned that what really makes me happy is helping others. Becoming a doctor would mean that I could help people on a daily basis, which is exactly what I love about volunteering. I am thrilled to be attending Cornell University next fall, where I will work hard to pursue my dream. I plan to join several volunteer organizations on campus so that I can stay active in my community and continue doing what I love as I work towards achieving my dreams.

Natalie has been a Member of Lion’s Heart’s Ridgefield, Connecticut Chapter 2016 Girls Blue since 2013. Good luck with your studies and thanks for sharing Natalie!!

 

Leave a Reply

