Summer Intern Spotlight: Brooke

My name is Brooke and I have been a member of Lion’s Heart for 6 years; I am now a senior in high school. Lion’s Heart has helped instill in me not just to help others when it is convenient, but to have a constant desire for service. I have become passionate about always helping my friends and family in any way that I can, as well as helping the less fortunate through service.

In my Lion’s Heart years I have participated in so many different types of service helping various types of people. I have volunteered helping give toys to children with cancer, making care packages for military members, coaching younger volleyball teams, leading retreats for my peers, and endless other opportunities for service that were given to me by Lion’s Heart. My group also helps give each other ideas for our service and that is, in my opinion, the best part about Lion’s Heart. This organization enables teens to help other teens serve their community, creates an environment where everyone is open to sharing their experiences and helping other people have similar experiences. Because of my peers sharing their experiences with me, I have received opportunities to volunteer at places like the Serra Catholic School Harvest Festival and the Jessie Rees Foundation making JoyJars.

Lion’s Heart has not only helped me become the person that I am today, but I know it will also help shape the person that I will become in the future. I now am so much more involved and continue to help others become more involved in my community, school, and group. Without my experiences in Lion’s Heart, I know that I would not be living my life the way that I am today. I now have a much greater concern for what happens around me and I appreciate everything that I am given.

In the future, I see myself continuing my volunteer work that I have started in my middle and high school years. Thanks to Lion’s Heart, I now understand how many volunteer opportunities there are available to me, and I know that no matter where I end up, there will be a volunteer job that is perfect for me.

~  Written by our amazing summer intern, Brooke T., who was truly a great addition to our team!  She was always willing to lend her hand to assist anyone who needed it and excelled at everything asked of her, including editing these blog posts! It was amazing having Brooke around the office this summer!
brooke LH

Leave a Reply

